Inuktitut Informatique

Le projet UQAILAUT

Bienvenue !

Droits et license

Le travail présenté dans ces pages est le résultat de plusieurs années de recherche comme agent de recherche à l'Institut de technologie de l'information du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC). Les droits du code source et des applications que vous trouverez sur ce site appartiennent au CNRC et sont offerts sous licence « BSD 3-Clause ».
Benoît Farley

 

Mission : Faciliter l'usage de l'Inuktitut dans sa forme écrite sur les ordinateurs et sur internet en offrant des outils et des liens à d'importantes ressources.

Morning at Iqaluit, Nunavut
Un matin à Iqaluit, Nunavut
Photo : Joel Martin

 

Analyseur morphologique Inuktitut L'analyseur morphologique inuktitut décompose un mot inuktitut en ses diverses parties: racine, infixes et terminaison grammaticale. Le nombre des infixes (morceaux de mots ajoutés à la racine pour en modifier le sens) pouvant atteindre facilement la dizaine, et ces infixes pouvant subir des transformations superficielles substantielles lorsqu'ils s'attachent ensemble, ils peuvent parfois être difficiles à reconnaître. Se basant sur une base de données linguistiques couvrant l'ensemble des phénomènes morphophonologiques des divers dialectes de l'inuktitut, l'analyseur morphologique inuktitut constitue un outil de recherche et d'étude de la langue très intéressant et très utile. Il peut aussi être à la base d'outils plus complexes, comme par exemple un correcteur d'orthographe.

L'analyseur porte essentiellement sur les dialectes inuktitut de l'est canadien.  Nous travaillons toujours à la mise à jour de la base de données linguistique, qui contient déjà un ensemble presque complet des "racines" et des "infixes" de la langue et qui rend compte des formes dialectales diverses.

Ce lien mène à des applications utilisant l'analyseur morphologique et la base de données inuktitut, notamment, une application qui retourne la décomposition d'un mot surligné dans une page web par l'utilisateur, ainsi que des applications qui retournent l'information linguistique sur les racines et les infixes contenus dans la base de données.
En lire plus

Transcodeur Cette application permet de transcoder, c'est-à-dire de réécrire du texte Inuktitut dans une autre forme, par exemple, d'Unicode à ProSyl.
Exécuter    En lire plus

Translittérateur de pages internet Cette application remplace dans une page internet le texte inuktitut syllabique par le texte équivalent réécrit avec l'alphabet latin.
En lire plus

Affichage et entrée au clavier des caractères syllabiques Cette page donne accès aux polices de caractères, tant Unicode qu'archaïques, pour l'affichage des caractères syllabiques inuktitut, et aux pilotes de clavier qui doivent être utilisés pour pouvoir taper ces caractères au clavier.
En lire plus

Documents en ligne

Inuktitut Linguistics for Technocrats (Linguistique inuktitut pour technocrates) Mick Mallon nous a gracieusement donné la permission de placer ici une copie de son ouvrage, qui propose une brève introduction à la phonologie et à la morphophonologie de l'Inuktitut. Écrit dans un style adapté aux qallunaat, il aide à comprendre le mécanisme de formation des mots, qui est en effet la base même de cette langue.
Consulter

Dictionnaire "Inuktitut - A Multi-dialectal Outline Dictionary (with an Aivilingmiutaq base)" d'Alex Spalding
Consulter

Corpus parallèle Inuktitut-Anglais Avec l'aimable coopération de l'Assemblée législative du Nunavut, nous avons assemblé un corpus aligné des compte-rendu des délibérations de l'Assemblée législative du Nunavut. Dans ce corpus, on a mis en parallèle, quasiment au niveau de la phrase, le texte inuktitut et la version anglaise. Nous procédons actuellement à une mise à jour du corpus parallèle; la version produite en 2003 est actuellement disponible.
En lire plus

Recherche dans les Hansard du Nunavut Afin de démontrer l'utilité de ce corpus parallèle anglais-inuktitut, nous avons élaboré un mécanisme de recherche qui permet d'afficher à l'écran les textes correspondants anglais et inuktitut contenant un mot ou une partie de mot inuktitut ou anglais spécifié par l'utilisateur.
Exécuter

Droits et licence

© Conseil national de recherches du Canada 2012

Code source distribué sous licence BSD 3-Clause

Termes de la licence BSD 3-Clause

La redistribution et l'utilisation des sources et des exécutables, avec ou sans modification, sont permises pour autant que les conditions suivantes sont respectées :

CE LOGICIEL EST FOURNI "TEL QUEL" PAR LE DÉTENTEUR DES DROITS ET SES CONTRIBUTEURS ET SONT DÉSAVOUÉES TOUTES LES GARANTIES EXPLICITES OU IMPLICITES, INCLUANT, MAIS SANS S'Y LIMITER, LES GARANTIES IMPLICITES DE COMMERCIALISABILITÉ ET DE FORME. EN AUCUN CAS LE DÉTENTEUR DES DROITS OU LES CONTRIBUTEURS NE POURRONT ÊTRE TENUS RESPONSABLES DE DOMMAGES ÉVENTUELS DIRECTS, INDIRECTS, CIRCONSTANCIELS, SPÉCIAUX, EXEMPLAIRES, OU CONSÉQUENTS (INCLUANT, MAIS SANS S'Y LIMITER, L'ACQUISITION DE BIENS OU DE SERVICES DE SUBSTITUTION ; LA PERTE DE L'USAGE, DE DONNÉES OU DE PROFITS ; L'INTERRUPTION DES AFFAIRES), QUELLES QU'EN SOIENT LES CAUSES, SOUS AUCUNE QUELCONQUE THÉORIE DE RESPONSABILITÉ, QUE CE SOIT PAR CONTRAT, PAR RESPONSABILITÉ STRICTE, OU PAR TORT (INCLUANT LA NÉGLIGENCE OU AUTRE) SURVENANT D'UNE QUELCONQUE FAÇON LORS DE L'UTILISATION DE CE LOGICIEL, MÊME SI ON A ÉTÉ INFORMÉ DE LA POSSIBILITÉ DE TELS DOMMAGES.

Le contenu de ce site a été développé par Benoît Farley au Conseil national de recherches du Canada.

Inuktitut Computing

The UQAILAUT Project

Welcome!

Rights and License

The work presented in these pages is the result of several years of research as a research officer at the Institute of Information Technology of the National Research Council of Canada (NRC). The source code and the applications that you will find hereinafter are copyrighted to NRC and released under the BSD 3-Clause license.
Benoît Farley

 

Mission: To facilitate the use of Inuktitut in its written form on computers and the web by providing useful tools and links to important resources.

Morning at Iqaluit, Nunavut
Morning at Iqaluit, Nunavut
Photo: Joel Martin

 

Inuktitut Morphological Analyser A common problem for a student of Inuktitut is that words grow to gigantic proportions, often counting over five or six infixes, and need to be broken into units of meaning in order to be understood. This may represent a particular challenge to newcomers to the language, more so when one considers the phonological transformations as those infixes are added up.  In order to provide support for students and as a basis for more complex tools such as spelling correctors and better search tools that are taken for granted in other languages, we have developed a tool that splits these long words into morphemes (a morphological analyser).

The focus is on the dialects of Eastern Canadian Inuktitut.  We are still adding to our linguistic database, but the tool already provides an almost complete set of the "roots" and "infixes" of the language, taking full account for their various forms.

This link leads to applications that use the inuktitut morphological analyzer and the data base. There is an application that returns de decomposition of a word highlighted by the user in a web page. There is also applications that return linguistic information on the roots and the infixes contained in the data base.
Read more about

Transcoder With this application, one can get Inuktitut text rewritten from some original format (Unicode, Nunacom, ProSyl, roman alphabet, etc.) to another format.
Run    Read more about

Web Page Transliteration An application that produces an exact copy of an Inuktitut web page with the Inuktitut syllabic text transliterated to the roman alphabet.
Read more about

Display and Input of Inuktitut Syllabic Characters This page gives access to Unicode and Legacy fonts for displaying Inuktitut syllabic characters, and to keyboard drivers that must be used in order to type those characters at the keyboard.
Read more about

On-line Documents

Inuktitut Linguistics for Technocrats Mick Mallon has graciously given us permission to put a copy of this document that provides a brief introduction to the phonology and morphophonology of Inuktitut. This document is written in a style that allows qallunaat seeking an understanding of how the language is put together to absorb the basics of word formation, an essential part of the Inuktitut language.
Consult

Alex Spalding's "Inuktitut - A Multi-dialectal Outline Dictionary (with an Aivilingmiutaq base)"
Consult

Inuktitut-English Parallel Corpus With the gracious co-operation of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut we have assembled an aligned parallel corpus, where the Inuktitut text and its English translation is put in parallel, at or near the sentence level. We are in the process of producing an updated version of the Hansard Parallel Corpus but, for now, we will ensure that the versions produced in 2003 are available.
Read more about

Searching the Nunavut Hansard As a demonstration of how the Inuktitut-English parallel corpus can be used as the basis of a useful application for a student or speaker of Inuktitut, we provide a means for searching. At the present time you can search on individual words or parts of words in the Inuktitut or English text and will be shown the complete sentence from the Inuktitut text together with the English sentence aligned to it.
Run

Rights and License

© National Research Council of Canada 2012

Source code distributed under the BSD 3-Clause license

BSD 3-Clause License

Redistribution and use in source and binary forms, with or without modification, are permitted provided that the following conditions are met:

THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED BY THE COPYRIGHT HOLDERS AND CONTRIBUTORS "AS IS" AND ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE ARE DISCLAIMED. IN NO EVENT SHALL THE COPYRIGHT HOLDER OR CONTRIBUTORS BE LIABLE FOR ANY DIRECT, INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, SPECIAL, EXEMPLARY, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES (INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, PROCUREMENT OF SUBSTITUTE GOODS OR SERVICES; LOSS OF USE, DATA, OR PROFITS; OR BUSINESS INTERRUPTION) HOWEVER CAUSED AND ON ANY THEORY OF LIABILITY, WHETHER IN CONTRACT, STRICT LIABILITY, OR TORT (INCLUDING NEGLIGENCE OR OTHERWISE) ARISING IN ANY WAY OUT OF THE USE OF THIS SOFTWARE, EVEN IF ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGE.

The contents of this site was developed by Benoît Farley at the National Research Council of Canada.